International Board of Directors

2020 - 2021 ISPE International Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the Society. The following pharmaceutical industry leaders have been elected to positions on the 2020–2021 ISPE International Board of Directors:

To view the results of the 2021 Election and the 2021-2022 Board of Directors, visit the International Board Election Page.


Joanne R. Barrick, RPh
Advisor, Global Validation
Eli Lilly and Company
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President, Vetter Development Service, External Affairs
Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co.
Vice Chair
Michael L. Rutherford
Executive Director, Computer Systems Quality & Data Integrity
Syneos Health
Scott W. Billman
Vice President, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Services
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services
Past Chair
Thomas B. Hartman
President and CEO
Ex Officio Non-voting Member


Vivianne J. Arencibia
Independent Consultant
Arencibia Quality Compliance Associates
Nina S. Cauchon, PhD
Director Regulatory Affairs - CMC
Amgen Inc.
Chris Chen, PhD
WuXi Biologics (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
David Doleski
Compliance Head for Biologics Quality Operations
Board Appointed Director
Ylva Ek
Chief Quality Officer (CQO)
KeyPlants AB
Lou W. Kennedy
CEO and Owner
Nephron Pharmaceuticals
Stephen Mahoney
Executive Director, Global Quality & Compliance
Genentech, A Member of the Roche Group
Teresa Minero
Founder & CEO
LifeBee - Digitalizing Life Sciences
Alice Redmond, PhD
Chief Strategy Officer
Hirofumi Suzuki, PhD
Product Supply Japan, Head of Product Supply Coordination
Bayer Yakuhin Ltd

Ex Officio

John Clarke
Process Lead
Board Emerging Leaders Representative (Non-voting)

ISPE is governed by an elected board of directors. The board is composed of fifteen elected members and the CEO & President, who serves as a non-voting ex-officio member. Directors are elected to a two-year term and can serve up to two terms consecutively. All terms commence at Annual Meeting. The officer positions are Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Past Chair and the President as a non-voting ex officio member. Terms for officers are one year and the Secretary is the first officer position in the typical officer succession. Each candidate for secretary is typically making a five-year commitment to serve in the roles of Secretary through Past Chair. During the September 2016 meeting of the ISPE International Board of Directors, two important modifications were incorporated into the ISPE Bylaws. The Board approved the appointment of a Director level position to the Board and the current Chair of the International Emerging Leaders Committee will be invited to board meetings as an ex-officio (non-voting) member as well. The main objective of these appointments was to ensure that ISPE has the appropriate diversity within the Board to execute business strategies as defined in our ISPE Strategic Plan. For additional information on the actions from the last Board meeting or access to governance actions visit the Governance Documents FAQs page.